I Hate My Pool

Posted on Updated on

I hate my pool.

Seems like a blasphemous thing to say, especially on a day like today when it’s supposed to reach 96 to 98 degrees but feel like it’s 105.  I was trying to figure out if I could talk the boys into not opening the pool this year; last year it seemed like they went into to it only about 5 times the entire season.  I was ready to drain it, take it apart and list it on Craigslist this year.  But with the school year coming to a close this week, the cries of “When’s the pool going to be open?” finally got to me.  There doesn’t seem to be a way to talk the kids into taking to the beach instead of jumping in the pool this year. 

Like anyone else who owns a pool, it’s not having it that’s the problem.  It’s owning it: the opening, the maintainence, the vacuuming, the day-to-day stuff that seems nothing more than to suck the remaining life and energy out of your body after coming home from work.  It seems like no matter how well the pool is closed after the end of the previous season, leaves and other stuff always appear when the cover comes off the following year.  We’ve had it for about 7-8 years now and are on our third pool liner and second filter pump. (Did I mention pool ownership is fun?? ‘Cause it is!)

It’s not like Mike wouldn’t get to swim if I didn’t open the pool; he starts summer camp for special needs children via the Oyster Bay GAP Program, where he’ll get to swim everyday, if it’s not raining.  Like typical kids, he loves the water; one year he broke his ankle and we had the orthopedist place him in a waterproof cast so he could hobble over to the pool and swim (it helped with showering too). 

I have to admit it does feel good to just take a quick dip and float for a few minutes.  We have had wonderful times playing and lounging in there; doing handstands and creating whirlpools.  And I think that my neighbors want to be invited over more, now that they are both retired.  Hmmm, maybe if I could get them to do the pool maintainence, etc., that could be a win-win. 

There is something about being in a pool that is uniquely child-like; something that we want our kids on the Spectrum to experience: growing up and having a typical Summer day of fun and relaxation; away from school, therapists, ABA, etc.  When they’re in the pool, they don’t have to catch up to anyone.

So the pool will open to make a few Summer 2012 memories that will last a lifetime.  Better late than never.

By the way, that is not my pool in the picture; but I can dream can’t I?

Leave a Reply

