Today’s Autism Hero: Lexi Pereira

Posted on

Kids’ lemonade stand benefits charity

img
Lexi Pereira and her brother, Spencer, raised money with their homemade lemonade to benefit Gateways Community Services in Nashua.

My name is Lexi and I am 9 years old. One morning I told my mom that I wanted to do a lemonade stand for charity. We talked about the different kinds of charities. Since my younger sister, Ellie, has autism, and I have Asperger’s Syndrome which is a kind of mild autism, I thought I should give to a charity that helps other kids with autism.

So we bought some supplies. My mom, brother, and I started to make some lemonade. We made signs and went outside to start selling. I soon had my first customer.

I sold my lemonade in the afternoons and evenings from June until the middle of July. Some days I had more customers than others. People were very generous. Some people came back every day and one man even gave me $20!

At the end, I was so close to $100 that my dad said he would donate the last $3. Then, I had $100 to donate. I decided to give that money to Gateways Community Services in Nashua which is the place where my sister’s therapists work. They do a lot for kids with autism, and I wanted to give back to them.

Thank you, people of Merrimack. I couldn’t have done it without you.

LEXI PEREIRA

Merrimack

http://www.cabinet.com/merrimackjournal/merrimackreadersubmitted/977628-308/kids-lemonade-stand-benefits-charity.html

Leave a Reply

