I cried on the way home

Posted on

red van ramblings

It happened last Friday after picking up my daughter from school.

Every day when I pick her up, I ask the open-ended “How was your day?” when she hops in the front seat. Unlike Jacob, who promptly gives me one word utterances when asked such preposterous questions, Emma knows what I want to know. Well, to be fair, Jacob also knows what I want to know, but chooses not to elaborate.

On Friday, when I picked Emma up, we exchanged the usual niceties. But when she got to sharing about her European History class (another post for another day), she told me there had been a substitute that day and they had been assigned an essay to complete during class time.

She said she was busily trying to complete the essay during the time allotted, but was finding herself distracted by a group of three boys in her class. I…

View original post 974 more words

3 thoughts on “I cried on the way home

    Joell said:
    09-12-2013 at 1:33 pm

    Wow! Thanks so much!

      3ebrothers responded:
      09-12-2013 at 1:38 pm

      Thank you for writing a post that every parent, special needs or not, can empathize with.

        Joell said:
        09-12-2013 at 2:01 pm

        I am a mom, what can I say? This hit me in that “mom” spot that breaks your heart and makes you so mad all at the same time. Thanks so much for reading and sharing my post.

Leave a Reply

